Jim Zarroli http://wncw.org en With Default 23 Days Away, A Little Clause Could Cost Argentina Big http://wncw.org/post/default-23-days-away-little-clause-could-cost-argentina-big After missing a June 30 deadline, Argentina has a 30-day grace period to pay investors $539 million in interest. Otherwise, the country will default on its debts. Argentinian officials argue they can't make the payment without triggering other debt payments that would bankrupt the country. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 37140 at http://wncw.org Report Shows 288,000 New Jobs In June http://wncw.org/post/report-shows-288000-new-jobs-june Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene. Good morning. We begin this hour with more positive signs about the nation's economy. The Labor Department this morning said the U.S. unemployment rate fell to its lowest level in nearly six years last month, and employers added some 288,000 jobs to their payrolls. Here's NPR's Jim Zarroli.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: The job growth was spread across the economy in business services, retail trade, manufacturing and even government hiring. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 15:14:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 36956 at http://wncw.org BNP Paribas Agrees To Nearly $9 Billion Fine And Admission Of Guilt http://wncw.org/post/bnp-paribas-agrees-9-billion-fine-and-admission-guilt Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Banking giant BNP Paribas has agreed to pay American regulators nearly $9 billion dollars to settle charges of economic sanctions violations. It's the largest such fine ever imposed by the U.S. The bank will plead guilty to two criminal charges. It was accused of helping clients in Sudan, Cuba and Iran conduct business in the United States. NPR's Jim Zarroli reports.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: The charges were brought after a lengthy investigation that involved the Justice Department, the Federal Reserve and banking regulators in New York state. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 22:20:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 36845 at http://wncw.org U.S.-Foreign Mergers Raise Calls For Tax Reforms http://wncw.org/post/us-foreign-mergers-raise-calls-tax-reforms This week the big medical device company Medtronic said it was moving its legal headquarters from Minneapolis to Ireland. It's part of a $43 billion merger with another medical company, Dublin-based Covidien.<p>The move is a tax-saving strategy called an inversion and it's growing more common in the corporate world.<p>U.S. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 21:45:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 36461 at http://wncw.org U.S.-Foreign Mergers Raise Calls For Tax Reforms Lightning-Fast Trades Go Beneath The Congressional Microscope http://wncw.org/post/lightning-fast-trades-go-beneath-congressional-microscope The Senate Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations is holding a hearing on problems in the financial markets caused by high-frequency trading firms. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 36304 at http://wncw.org Political Rhetoric Bogs Down Future Of Keystone XL Pipeline http://wncw.org/post/political-rhetoric-bogs-down-future-keystone-xl-pipeline Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. Good morning. Last month the Obama administration put off a decision on whether to approve the Keystone XL pipeline. The project has been enormously controversial. It would carry crude oil from Canada to the Gulf of Mexico. This morning we examine what's at stake for the oil industry and for energy production. Fri, 23 May 2014 11:07:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 35344 at http://wncw.org AT&T And DirecTV Mega-Merger Spells Changes For Media Landscape http://wncw.org/post/att-and-directv-mega-merger-spells-changes-media-landscape Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Federal regulators are facing a decision on whether to allow another big media merger. This time, it's AT&T and DirecTV. Yesterday, the board of AT&T voted to acquire the satellite television company in a deal worth almost $50 billion. NPR's Jim Zarroli reports that the hope is to be a stronger competitor against the likes of Verizon and Comcast.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: Like other big media companies, AT&T has been desperately trying to tell the future of the media business and get ready for it. Mon, 19 May 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 35169 at http://wncw.org Crowdfunding Can Help Build Business, But At What Cost? http://wncw.org/post/crowdfunding-can-help-build-business-what-cost Entrepreneur Andy Krafsur raised money for Spira Footwear by reaching out to friends and family. But that was a dozen years ago. After the economy tanked, the common tactic became a lot more difficult.<p>"The pool of people that you can go to has shrunken significantly," Krafsur says, "and everybody goes to those same people."<p>Then Krafsur found a crowdfunding website that helped his cash flow enormously. Fri, 09 May 2014 09:36:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 34778 at http://wncw.org Crowdfunding Can Help Build Business, But At What Cost? Alibaba IPO Could Be The Biggest Ever http://wncw.org/post/alibaba-ipo-could-be-biggest-ever Alibaba is the biggest e-commerce player in China. The Internet conglomerate is filing papers in the U.S. for what could be the biggest IPO ever. Tue, 06 May 2014 21:34:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 34683 at http://wncw.org Buffett Defends Coke Position At Berkshire Hathaway Meeting http://wncw.org/post/buffett-defends-coke-position-berkshire-hathaway-meeting Warren Buffett is under fire for not opposing Coca-Cola's executive compensation plan more aggressively. Buffett spoke about his decision at a shareholder meeting for his company Berkshire Hathaway. Mon, 05 May 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 34602 at http://wncw.org