Neda Ulaby http://wncw.org en For These Vegans, Masculinity Means Protecting The Planet http://wncw.org/post/these-vegans-masculinity-means-protecting-planet Real men eat meat. They kill it and then they grill it.<p>That's the stereotype, or cliche, that's about as old as time.<p>At a recent barbecue in Brooklyn, N.Y., a half-dozen guys who resist that particular cultural stereotype gathered together. Many of them are muscled semi-professional athletes, including triathlete Dominic Thompson, competitive bodybuilder Giacomo Marchese and mixed martial arts fighter Cornell Ward.<p>They're also all vegans and eschew all animal products. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:58:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 37648 at http://wncw.org For These Vegans, Masculinity Means Protecting The Planet NSA Coverage Garners Pulitzers For Post And Guardian http://wncw.org/post/nsa-coverage-garners-pulitzers-post-and-guardian Winners of the 2014 Pulitzer Prizes were announced Monday. The Washington Post and The Guardian were among the notable winners, commended for together breaking the news of NSA surveillance programs. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:48:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 33803 at http://wncw.org A Picket Line At The Oscars: Visual-Effects Artists To Protest http://wncw.org/post/picket-line-oscars-visual-effects-artists-protest Hundreds of visual-effects artists are planning to picket the Academy Awards on Sunday for the second year in a row. They're hoping to bring attention to what's been happening in their industry.<p>The field is losing jobs and relocating to countries with bigger subsidies for employers. It's the result of a technical revolution that's changed the profession since it kicked off in the 70s with Star Wars creator George Lucas' visual-effects company, Industrial Light and Magic.<p>At first, visual effects was mostly engineers creating special effects with cameras, high-speed motors and models. Sat, 01 Mar 2014 14:50:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 32139 at http://wncw.org A Baby Didn't Bump These Moms Out Of Competition http://wncw.org/post/baby-didnt-bump-these-moms-out-competition Let's be clear: Olympians handle the physical challenges of childbirth differently than most of the rest of us.<p>Aretha Thurmond is a discus thrower who'd already competed in two Olympics when she went to the hospital in labor.<p>"So I get there and they're like, 'Yeah, whatever, you're 4 centimeters dilated. Go walk around the hospital and come back,' " she says.<p>Thurmond's hospital was part of a university, so she headed straight for its track, where she power-walked for the next two hours. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 23:44:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 30800 at http://wncw.org A Baby Didn't Bump These Moms Out Of Competition Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful http://wncw.org/post/amiri-baraka-poet-and-co-founder-black-arts-movement-dies-79 One of America's most important — and controversial — literary figures, Amiri Baraka, died on Thursday from complications after surgery following a long illness, according to his oldest son. Baraka was 79.<p>Baraka co-founded the Black Arts Movement of the 1960s. His literary legacy is as complicated as the times he lived through, from his childhood — where he recalled not being allowed to enter a segregated library — to the 2001 attack on the World Trade Center. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:16:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 30358 at http://wncw.org Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful Hollywood's New Strategy: Supporting Chinese-Made Blockbusters http://wncw.org/post/hollywoods-new-strategy-supporting-chinese-made-blockbusters <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqZb1bUKJQ0</p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 07:55:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 28770 at http://wncw.org Hollywood's New Strategy: Supporting Chinese-Made Blockbusters Most Remaining Blockbusters To Close In January http://wncw.org/post/most-remaining-blockbusters-close-january Blockbuster is going to shut all of its company-owned stores. Some franchise stores will stay open. At its peak, the video rental chain had about 9,000 stores. Thu, 07 Nov 2013 09:54:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 28126 at http://wncw.org Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies http://wncw.org/post/lou-reed-beloved-contrarian-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffr0opfm6I4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KaWSOlASWc</p> Sun, 27 Oct 2013 19:47:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 27699 at http://wncw.org Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies New Cable Channels Try To Lure Millennials Back To TV http://wncw.org/post/new-cable-channels-try-lure-millennials-back-tv Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>OK, three brand-new cable channels all share the same problem. How do you persuade 20-somethings to look up from their phones long enough to gaze at an old-fashioned, regular TV? Mon, 21 Oct 2013 08:47:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 27455 at http://wncw.org The Man Who Gets The Science Right On 'The Big Bang Theory' http://wncw.org/post/man-who-gets-science-right-big-bang-theory Sure, Bob Newhart may have won his first Emmy for guest-starring as Professor Proton on the hugely popular show <em>The Big Bang Theory</em>, about four young scientists at Caltech. But behind the scenes is a real-life professor, David Saltzberg of UCLA.<p>Saltzberg studies high-energy particle physics and high-energy neutrino astronomy, using radio-detection techniques when he's not working as <em>The Big Bang Theory</em>'s science consultant.<p>"It's just like a physics lab!" Saltzberg exclaims as he maneuvers around the show's sprawling set. "You have to watch where you walk. Mon, 23 Sep 2013 07:34:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 26373 at http://wncw.org The Man Who Gets The Science Right On 'The Big Bang Theory'