Don Gonyea http://wncw.org en Meet The New Stars Of Campaign Ads: Mom And Dad http://wncw.org/post/meet-new-stars-campaign-ads-mom-and-dad It's the summer of a campaign year and once again the airwaves, the Internet, and likely your own Facebook and other social media feeds are full of political ads.<p>In the primaries, we've already seen ads featuring <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4EIMkxNhClQ">cartoon turtles</a>, <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aBNQBx6JOcw">gator wrestling</a>, lots of dogs, horses and, of course, guns — propped against pickup trucks or resting over shoulders.<p>And in one case, there's the candidate <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOoXJI4vBns">shooting a drone</a> out of the sky. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 21:25:00 +0000 Don Gonyea 36601 at http://wncw.org Meet The New Stars Of Campaign Ads: Mom And Dad As News Of Cantor's Upset Settles, A Shakeup Still Looms On The Hill http://wncw.org/post/news-cantors-upset-settles-shakeup-still-looms-hill Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, BYLINE: And I'm Melissa Block. Republicans are reeling from the<p>stunning news out of the Virginia GOP primary last night. Majority Leader Eric Cantor, the number two Republican in the U.S. Congress, was not just upset, he was beaten badly by a relatively unknown challenger. His name is David Brat. He's a college professor who used Tea Party backing to beat Cantor by 11 points. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 20:18:00 +0000 Don Gonyea 36064 at http://wncw.org Clinton Uses 'Hard Choices' Book Tour To Steer Benghazi Message http://wncw.org/post/clinton-uses-hard-choices-book-tour-steer-benghazi-message Republicans have been using the 2012 attack in Libya against her. Analysts say while Hillary Clinton is talking about Benghazi, she is defining the issue herself well ahead of any political campaign. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 09:25:00 +0000 Don Gonyea 36031 at http://wncw.org Senate Expected To Approve Sebelius Replacement At HHS http://wncw.org/post/senate-expected-approve-sebelius-replacement-hhs The Senate votes Thursday on the nomination of Sylvia Mathews Burwell to be Health and Human Services Secretary, replacing Kathleen Sebelius. Burwell was running the Office of Management and Budget. Thu, 05 Jun 2014 09:10:00 +0000 Don Gonyea 35809 at http://wncw.org Former Obama Campaigner Tries Running For Himself In Iowa http://wncw.org/post/former-obama-campaigner-tries-running-himself-iowa Could President Obama one day motivate future generations to run for office, the way that John F. Kennedy and Ronald Reagan have? It's too early to tell if a trend will take hold, but there is at least one key Obama campaign veteran now running for statewide office.<p>Brad Anderson was the spokesman for Obama's 2008 Iowa campaign. Four years later, he ran the president's entire Iowa operation. Now Anderson is running for Iowa secretary of state.<p>At 39 years old, he's never run for office himself — unless you count that race for class treasurer back in third grade. Thu, 22 May 2014 07:30:00 +0000 Don Gonyea 35283 at http://wncw.org Voters Go To Polls On Primary Season's Busiest Day Yet http://wncw.org/post/voters-go-polls-primary-seasons-busiest-day-yet Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. It is the busiest day on this year's election calendar so far. Voters are going to the polls in six states across the country. In Kentucky, the ballot feature is one of the most important Senate primaries of 2014, a Tea Party-backed challenge to Senate Republican leader Mitch McConnell. Tue, 20 May 2014 21:02:00 +0000 Don Gonyea 35227 at http://wncw.org After Nearly 50 Years In Office, Conyers Might Not Make The Ballot http://wncw.org/post/after-nearly-50-years-office-conyers-might-not-make-ballot A local elections official has ruled that Rep. John Conyers of Detroit, who's served in the House for nearly 50 years, has failed to collect enough valid signatures to appear on the Democratic primary ballot. He's appealing the decision; if he loses, it could be an ignominious end to a distinguished career. Thu, 15 May 2014 20:05:00 +0000 Don Gonyea 35029 at http://wncw.org Politicians Get Personal With Memorable Early Campaign Ads http://wncw.org/post/politicians-get-personal-memorable-early-campaign-ads <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fnVDAfkLHK8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mucYcm6moe0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6QLBvk932bw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KXqHI059n90</p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 23:15:00 +0000 Don Gonyea 34273 at http://wncw.org Politicians Get Personal With Memorable Early Campaign Ads Obama, Bush Mark Passage Of 1964 Civil Rights Act http://wncw.org/post/obama-bush-mark-passage-1964-civil-rights-act Barack Obama and George W. Bush, two U.S. presidents with little in common in terms of policy, personal style and politics, each paid tribute to the legacy of President Lyndon Johnson. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 10:44:00 +0000 Don Gonyea 33683 at http://wncw.org Austin Hosts Presidents Past And Present To Honor Civil Rights http://wncw.org/post/austin-hosts-presidents-past-and-present-honor-civil-rights President Obama is in Austin, Texas, honoring the legacy of President Lyndon Johnson and the Civil Rights Act of 1964. He's one of four U.S. presidents to appear at a civil rights summit this week. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:08:00 +0000 Don Gonyea 33655 at http://wncw.org