Lourdes Garcia-Navarro http://wncw.org en The Collective Anguish Of The Brazilian Defeat http://wncw.org/post/collective-anguish-brazilian-defeat Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And now on to Sao Paulo, where NPR South America correspondent Lourdes Garcia-Navarro caught the game at a bar. And, Lourdes, I assume there is collective anguish, albeit very loud anguish right now. What's the mood?<p>LOURDES GARCIA-NAVARRO, BYLINE: Well, I think people are drowning their sorrows in this bar. And I think anguish is absolutely the right word. I think you could also use the word despair, shock, horror. People have told me this surpassed even the worst imaginings of their most pessimistic friends. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 22:39:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 37149 at http://wncw.org For Brazilians, Game-Day Rituals Lead To Sense Of Community http://wncw.org/post/brazilians-game-day-rituals-lead-sense-community Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Brazil faces Germany today in the semi-finals of the World Cup.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Deep into the tournament, Brazilian fans have developed a game day routine.<p>INSKEEP: So we present to you now, with NPR's Lourdes Garcia-Navarro in Sao Paulo, Brazil's World Cup ritual in four acts.<p>MONTAGNE: Act one - getting to the game.<p>GARCIA-NAVARRO: I am in a car right now doing what pretty much every single other Brazilian is doing, which is trying to get to where they're going to see the latest Brazil game. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 37104 at http://wncw.org Revived Mariel Port Attracts Investment From Brazil http://wncw.org/post/revived-mariel-port-attracts-investment-brazil Brazil is pouring nearly a billion dollars into Cuba's Mariel port. Brazil, via Cuba, will practically have its own port near U.S. shores — so it's a major geostrategic move. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 09:32:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 36617 at http://wncw.org Troubles Put Aside, Brazilians Embrace World Cup http://wncw.org/post/troubles-put-aside-brazilians-embrace-world-cup Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>We now turn to Brazil and the World Cup. Yesterday, the host country played Mexico, and it was a disappointing performance for home-team fans. It was a draw. Neither side scored. Still, Brazilians are feeling more positive about the World Cup. NPR's Lourdes Garcia-Navarro reports from Sao Paulo.<p>LOURDES GARCIA-NAVARRO, BYLINE: Watching the World Cup is better in a group, and Brazilians are no exception. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 09:17:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 36325 at http://wncw.org Can A Female Politician Be Insulted Without It Being Sexist? http://wncw.org/post/can-female-politician-be-insulted-without-it-being-sexist The talk on the streets of Brazil is the host country's <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/06/12/321417607/brazil-wins-world-cup-opener-against-croatia-3-1">resounding victory over Croatia</a> on the World Cup pitch. But online, debate is raging over whether or not chants directed against Brazil's President Dilma Rousseff at the stadium where she was attending yesterday's match were sexist.<p>After the opening ceremony, fans briefly started jeering "Hey, Dilma, go f*** yourself in the a**! Fri, 13 Jun 2014 16:29:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro & Paula Moura 36148 at http://wncw.org Can A Female Politician Be Insulted Without It Being Sexist? World Cup's First Day Marred By Protests http://wncw.org/post/world-cups-first-day-marred-protests Riot police in Sao Paulo used tear gas and stun grenades against protesters angry over Brazil's attention to the World Cup over the needs of its people. The violence came before the first game began. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 10:25:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 36136 at http://wncw.org Brazilians Greet The World Cup Kickoff With Protests And Tear Gas http://wncw.org/post/brazilians-greet-world-cup-kickoff-protests-and-tear-gas In Brazil, thousands of protesters clashed with police just hours before the World Cup opening ceremony. The streets of Sao Paolo were filled with tear gas and concussion grenades. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 20:02:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 36117 at http://wncw.org Brazil Furious Over Ad Showing Christ The Redeemer In An Italian Jersey http://wncw.org/post/brazil-furious-over-ad-showing-christ-redeemer-italian-jersey It's the most iconic image of Brazil: the Christ the Redeemer statue, perched atop Rio de Janiero, looking down with his arms spread wide in love and understanding.<p>Now imagine the towering figure wearing a soccer jersey — and not even Brazil's.<p>Controversy has broken out over an Italian TV advertisement for the World Cup that shows the sculpture draped in the blue jersey of the Azzurri, or Italy's national team, and featuring the slogan "Brazil awaits us."<p>Brazil's Catholic Church, which owns the rights to the image, called its use "disrespectful." It has threatened a lawsuit against It Wed, 11 Jun 2014 17:26:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 36054 at http://wncw.org Brazil Furious Over Ad Showing Christ The Redeemer In An Italian Jersey Soccer Fans Eager To Get World Cup Action Underway http://wncw.org/post/soccer-fans-eager-get-world-cup-action-underway Despite strikes and protests, fans are converging on Brazil in advance of the World Cup. The soccer tournament starts on Thursday. People from all over the world are getting into the soccer spirit. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 09:25:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 36029 at http://wncw.org With 2 Days Till Kickoff, World Cup Host City Is Stricken By Strike http://wncw.org/post/2-days-till-kickoff-world-cup-host-city-stricken-strike The World Cup kicks off in two days, and fans are pouring into Brazil. But in Sao Paulo, the site of the opening game, metro workers are striking over pay, fueling fierce clashes. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 20:33:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 36014 at http://wncw.org