Jeff Lunden http://wncw.org en While Broadway Sings Its Praise, The Wigmaker Remains Unsung http://wncw.org/post/while-broadway-sings-its-praise-wigmaker-remains-unsung Every time you see a Broadway show, chances are a lot of the actors are wearing wigs.<p>Sunday night at the 68<sup>th</sup> Annual Tony Awards, Broadway's highest honors will be presented in a ceremony at Radio City Music Hall. Awards will go to actors, actresses, set and lighting designers, but <em>not</em> the people who make the wigs the stars wear, even though the wigs are an essential part of theater craft.<p>Essential, and yet often invisible, says Jason P. Sun, 08 Jun 2014 09:22:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 35931 at http://wncw.org While Broadway Sings Its Praise, The Wigmaker Remains Unsung Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool http://wncw.org/post/well-spring-frozen-soundtrack-keeps-charts-cool Disney's animated film <em>Frozen</em> has been racking up impressive statistics since it was released last November. Its box office earnings total $1 billion, worldwide, the movie won two Academy Awards, and on the first day the home video came out, it sold 3.2 million copies. Fri, 09 May 2014 07:56:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 34777 at http://wncw.org Well Into Spring, 'Frozen' Soundtrack Keeps The Charts Cool 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again http://wncw.org/post/after-midnight-and-cotton-club-swinging-again <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-qEZ9zeIJw</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 08:30:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 31171 at http://wncw.org 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last http://wncw.org/post/broadways-spider-man-musical-turns-lights-last Regardless of how critics and audiences eventually responded, <em>Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark</em> was always going to be one of the most-discussed shows in Broadway history. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 08:26:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 30117 at http://wncw.org Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come http://wncw.org/post/new-owner-promises-hand-made-steinways-years-come For 160 years, the pianos made by Steinway & Sons have been considered the finest in the world. So when hedge fund billionaire John Paulson recently bought the company, it struck fear in the hearts of musicians: Would the famously handcrafted pianos be changed, for the sake of efficiency? Paulson, who owns several Steinways himself, says nothing will change.<p>Great pianists need great pianos. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 09:34:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 29561 at http://wncw.org New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors http://wncw.org/post/chronicle-death-foretold-new-york-city-opera-shuts-its-doors This morning the New York City Opera announced that it was declaring bankruptcy and ceasing operations. Dubbed "The People's Opera" by Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia when it was founded 70 years ago, the company was meant as an alternative to the richer Metropolitan Opera. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 21:59:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 26755 at http://wncw.org Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors Grand Central, A Cathedral For Commuters, Celebrates 100 http://wncw.org/post/grand-central-cathedral-commuters-celebrates-100 Friday marks the day that 100 years ago, Grand Central Terminal opened its doors for business for the very first time. The largest railroad terminal in the world, the magnificent Beaux-Arts building is in the heart of New York City on 42nd St. Fri, 01 Feb 2013 08:40:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 17115 at http://wncw.org A Vet's Haunted Homecoming In 'Water By The Spoonful' http://wncw.org/post/vets-haunted-homecoming-water-spoonful The cliche about writers is they should write what they know, and that old saw has certainly worked for Quiara Alegria Hudes. The 35-year-old playwright has mined her Puerto Rican family's stories into a series of plays, a musical and even a children's book. Tue, 08 Jan 2013 08:47:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 16222 at http://wncw.org A Vet's Haunted Homecoming In 'Water By The Spoonful' The Peony Pavilion: A Vivid Dream In A Garden http://wncw.org/post/peony-pavilion-vivid-dream-garden <em>The Peony Pavilion</em> is one of China's most famous operas, but uncut performances of this romantic 16th century work can take more than 22 hours. Chinese composer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15167564/tan-dun" target="_blank">Tan Dun</a>, who's best known for his Academy Award-winning score for the film <em>Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon</em>, has adapted the work into a compact 75 minutes. Fri, 30 Nov 2012 09:03:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 14995 at http://wncw.org The Peony Pavilion: A Vivid Dream In A Garden Philadelphia Orchestra Reboots With New Music Director http://wncw.org/post/philadelphia-orchestra-reboots-new-music-director Everywhere you look right now, it seems like American symphony orchestras are fighting for their lives — strikes, lockouts, bankruptcy. Perhaps the biggest example is the world-renowned <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/16021984/philadelphia-orchestra" target="_blank">Philadelphia Orchestra</a>, which is just coming out of its own bankruptcy. Tonight, its new 37-year-old music director takes the podium as the venerable orchestra begins a reboot.<p>The Philadelphia Orchestra has been one of the world's greatest orchestras since it was founded in 1900. Thu, 18 Oct 2012 06:03:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 13471 at http://wncw.org Philadelphia Orchestra Reboots With New Music Director