Mike Pesca http://wncw.org en 5 Points To Help Simplify Sunday's Super Bowl http://wncw.org/post/5-points-help-simplify-sundays-super-bowl The chatter, hype and jargon in the weeks leading up to Sunday's Super Bowl XLVIII is more impenetrable than the Seahawk's secondary.<p>Perhaps you've heard the Seattle Seahawks have a running back who enters "Beast Mode." Maybe you've heard that the Denver Broncos' counter to Beast Mode is a defensive lineman <a href="http://sports.yahoo.com/news/from--beast-mode--to--pot-roast--to--pig---a-primer-on-super-bowl-nicknames-011914808.html">nicknamed</a> "Pot Roast."<p>Vociferously debating Beast Mode versus Pot Roast is no longer the exclusive domain of a <a href="http://www.wizards.com/Magic/Su Sun, 02 Feb 2014 10:30:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 31148 at http://wncw.org 5 Points To Help Simplify Sunday's Super Bowl Cold Super Bowl Could Lead To More Turnovers http://wncw.org/post/super-bowl-sunday Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>This Sunday's Super Bowl features the number one defense, the Seattle Seahawks, against the number one offense, the Denver Broncos and Peyton Manning. That is a surprisingly rare matchup, number one defense against number one offense. It's only happened a few times in all the Super Bowls to date. But of course that means there is a defense and an offense in the game that are not number one. NPR's Mike Pesca looks at what having greatness in one phase of the game does to the rest of the team.<p>MIKE PESCA, BYLINE: This year the Denver defense was OK. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 09:48:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 31047 at http://wncw.org NFL Thursday Matchup: 2 Losing Teams Will Still Get Ratings http://wncw.org/post/nfl-thursday-matchup-2-losing-teams-will-still-get-ratings Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It must be said the NFL game between the Houston Texans and the Jacksonville Jaguars tomorrow night, is not a marquee matchup. The Texans are two-and-10, the Jaguars look a little better, having won three of their last four games, but that was only after losing the first eight games of the season. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 10:03:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 29090 at http://wncw.org Red Sox Take One-Game Lead In World Series http://wncw.org/post/red-sox-take-one-game-lead-world-series Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>The Boston Red Sox have taken a one game to none lead over St. Louis in the World Series, beating the Cardinals eight to one last night at Fenway Park. The evening started off badly for the visitors and didn't improve from there. NPR's Mike Pesca was there and has this report.<p>MIKE PESCA, BYLINE: They call it the fall classic before anyone even has a chance to judge the quality of play. Last night the Cardinals put in a performance that was classically inept. Little Leaguers the world over are schooled in avoiding the incident that befell St. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 09:10:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 27593 at http://wncw.org 'Fetch Clay, Make Man': Ali, Fetchit And The 'Anchor Punch' http://wncw.org/post/fetch-clay-make-man-ali-fetchit-and-anchor-punch ---<p>Muhammad Ali's first title defense, a first-round TKO of Sonny Liston in 1965, <a href="http://life.time.com/icons/muhammad-ali-sonny-liston-and-the-phantom-punch-title-bout-1965/#1" target="_blank">propelled Ali to the status of icon</a>. In Ali's training camp before the fight was an icon from an earlier era: Lincoln Perry. He was the first African-American movie star, who went by the stage name Stepin Fetchi. Fri, 11 Oct 2013 20:36:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 27155 at http://wncw.org 'Fetch Clay, Make Man': Ali, Fetchit And The 'Anchor Punch' Yankees Say Goodbye To Rivera And His Cut Fastball http://wncw.org/post/yankees-say-goodbye-rivera-and-his-cut-fastball Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>OK, the baseball post-season is not quite settled. The Texas Rangers and Tampa Bay Rays will fight for the final playoff spot in a game tonight. The post-season of the New York Yankees is settled: There is not one. The Yankees failed to make it into the playoffs for only the second time in the last 19 years. And that means one of the most successful careers in baseball history has ended. Mariano Rivera has officially pitched his last game. Mon, 30 Sep 2013 08:34:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 26655 at http://wncw.org Qatar's Heat May Force World Cup Schedule Changes http://wncw.org/post/qatars-heat-may-force-world-cup-schedule-changes Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>The global governing body of soccer, or football as the rest of the world calls it, has a big decision to make next week. Some in that group, known as FIFA, are rethinking their plan to hold the 2022 World Cup in the desert nation of Qatar in the middle of summer.<p>NPR's Mike Pesca reports on what he calls the Confluence of Football and Fahrenheit.<p>MIKE PESCA, BYLINE: At 99 miles in length and 55 miles in width, the Persian Gulf nation of Qatar is sometimes spoken of in English media as being half the size of Wales. Wed, 25 Sep 2013 10:05:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 26490 at http://wncw.org What To Make Of Tiger Woods' Major-less Year http://wncw.org/post/what-make-tiger-woods-major-less-year By the standard of normal golfing mortals, Tiger Woods has had an incredible summer. He's won multiple tournaments and millions of dollars in prize money. What he didn't do was win any of golf's four major championships, and that has led some to write off Woods' 2013 as a failure.<p>He's had the most top 10 finishes on the PGA tour this year, but for him, that's not the measure of success. Woods has won more money on the tour than any of his peers, but for him, money isn't the measure. Woods has won five tournaments this year; the next closest competitor has only two wins. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 21:49:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 25209 at http://wncw.org What To Make Of Tiger Woods' Major-less Year Dufner Wins PGA Championship Over Furyk http://wncw.org/post/dufner-wins-pga-championship Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Jason Dufner has won this year's PGA championship. The 36-year-old is known for, shall we say, his nonchalance, but he managed a double fist pump after clenching the victory. There are a few more tournaments left this year but this was the last major. And NPR's Mike Pesca is with us to talk about the year in golf. Hey, Mike.<p>MIKE PESCA, BYLINE: Hello.<p>GREENE: So let's start with this weekend's tournament. How did Jason Dufner pull this off?<p>PESCA: Dufner. Mon, 12 Aug 2013 09:09:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 24706 at http://wncw.org Miami Heat Force Game 7 In NBA Finals http://wncw.org/post/miami-heat-force-game-7-nba-finals Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>It sure looked like the NBA season was coming to an end last night. World champions San Antonio Spurs - no, not so fast. The Miami Heat were not ready to give in. After a thrilling, improbable comeback, the Heat are still alive, pushing their NBA final series with the Spurs to the brink; a decisive Game 7 tomorrow.<p>Last night, the Heat were down by five points with just over 20 seconds remaining. They came back, forced overtime - and won. Final score: 103-to-100. Wed, 19 Jun 2013 10:12:00 +0000 Mike Pesca 22510 at http://wncw.org