Jennifer Ludden http://wncw.org en U.S. Plan To House Immigrant Kids In Tiny Va. Town Rattles Residents http://wncw.org/post/plan-house-immigrant-teens-prompts-backlash-virginia-town The influx of tens of thousands of unaccompanied immigrant children to the U.S. has sparked a controversy in an unlikely place far from the U.S.-Mexico border: a tiny town in southern Virginia.<p>The federal government had struck a deal to house some of the migrants in an empty college in Lawrenceville, in the heart of Virginia's tobacco belt. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 07:01:00 +0000 Jennifer Ludden 36366 at http://wncw.org U.S. Plan To House Immigrant Kids In Tiny Va. Town Rattles Residents Stay-At-Home Dads On The Rise, And Many Of Them Are Poor http://wncw.org/post/stay-home-dads-rise-and-many-them-are-poor The number of dads staying at home with their children has nearly doubled in the past two decades, and the diversity among them defies the stereotype of the highly educated young father who stays home to let his wife focus on her career.<p><a href="http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/2014/06/05/growing-number-of-dads-home-with-the-kids/" target="_blank">A new study</a> from the Pew Research Center finds that almost 2 million fathers are at home, up from 1.1 million in 1989. Thu, 05 Jun 2014 22:28:00 +0000 Jennifer Ludden 35864 at http://wncw.org Stay-At-Home Dads On The Rise, And Many Of Them Are Poor Why Aren't Teens Reading Like They Used To? http://wncw.org/post/why-arent-teens-reading-they-used <em>Harry Potter</em> and <em>The Hunger Games</em> haven't been big hits for nothing. Lots of teens and adolescents still read quite a lot.<p>But a roundup of studies, put together by the nonprofit Common Sense Media, shows a clear decline over time. Nearly half of 17-year-olds say they read for pleasure no more than one or two times a year — if that.<p>That's way down from a decade ago.<p>The digital revolution means there are more platforms than ever to read on. And yet, the number of American teens reading for pleasure has dropped dramatically. Mon, 12 May 2014 05:17:00 +0000 Jennifer Ludden 34860 at http://wncw.org Why Aren't Teens Reading Like They Used To? Present But Not There: Ruling Supports Telecommuting http://wncw.org/post/present-not-there-ruling-supports-telecommuting Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>Working from home used to be an exception. Technology's changed that. And now an appeals court has ruled that being at work doesn't always require you to physically have to be at work. NPR's Jennifer Ludden reports.<p>JENNIFER LUDDEN, BYLINE: Jane Harris was a resale buyer of steel for Ford Motor Company. After she developed a severe case of irritable bowel syndrome, she asked to work from home up to four days a week. Ford said no, being in the office was essential. A district court said case closed. Sat, 03 May 2014 13:52:00 +0000 Jennifer Ludden 34563 at http://wncw.org If You Want Flextime But Are Afraid To Ask, Consider Moving http://wncw.org/post/if-you-want-flextime-are-afraid-ask-head-vermont More companies than ever before say that they're offering flexible hours or telecommuting to their workers. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 21:15:00 +0000 Jennifer Ludden 34408 at http://wncw.org Outdated Tax Code Gives Some Working Spouses A Bad Deal http://wncw.org/post/outdated-tax-code-gives-some-working-spouses-bad-deal Women today are nearly half the workforce, and two-income couples are the norm. But the U.S. tax code? It's straight out of <a href="http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0044230/"><em>Ozzie and Harriet</em></a>.<p>When it comes to paying taxes, economists say, a lot of secondary wage-earners are getting a raw deal. It's called the marriage penalty.<p>"The system was never designed to penalize working spouses," says Melissa Kearney, director of the Hamilton Project at The Brookings Institution. "It was just designed in a different era."<p>That era was 1948, when the U.S. Sun, 13 Apr 2014 20:59:00 +0000 Jennifer Ludden 33767 at http://wncw.org Outdated Tax Code Gives Some Working Spouses A Bad Deal When Planning For The Future, Women Have Been Hands Off http://wncw.org/post/when-planning-future-women-have-been-hands It's a truism in the financial industry that women need to get more out of their money than men since they live longer and make less, especially if they take time out to care for children or aging parents. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 07:28:00 +0000 Jennifer Ludden 33227 at http://wncw.org When Planning For The Future, Women Have Been Hands Off Rural Appalachia Helps Some Women Save For Retirement http://wncw.org/post/rural-appalachia-helps-some-women-save-retirement Anita Wallace has run a day care in her home in rural Athens County, Ohio, for eight years. The schedule is more family-friendly than when she logged 60 hours a week as a manager at Wal-Mart, and the pay is about $27,000 a year — not bad for the area.<p>Wallace adores the children, getting down on the floor to let toddlers snuggle on her shoulder. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:47:00 +0000 Jennifer Ludden 32840 at http://wncw.org Rural Appalachia Helps Some Women Save For Retirement Telework: Not Just For Moms And Millennials http://wncw.org/post/telework-not-just-moms-and-millennials Many people may think of a "remote worker" as a harried mom in her bathrobe or a 20-something at a coffee shop. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 22:46:00 +0000 Jennifer Ludden 32094 at http://wncw.org Telework: Not Just For Moms And Millennials Push To Change Custody Laws: What's Best For Kids? http://wncw.org/post/push-change-custody-laws-whats-best-kids Fathers today spend more time than ever with their kids, experiencing just as much stress as women in balancing work and family, <a href="http://www.familiesandwork.org/the-new-male-mystique/">if not more</a>. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 08:35:00 +0000 Jennifer Ludden 32013 at http://wncw.org Push To Change Custody Laws: What's Best For Kids?