WNCW http://wncw.org en Italian Workers Will Try To Refloat Capsized Costa Concordia http://wncw.org/post/italian-workers-will-try-refloat-capsized-costa-concordia Authorities in Italy say work to float the shipwrecked Costa Concordia so it can be towed away for scrap could start Monday, weather-permitting. The cruise liner struck a reef in January 2012 and capsized, killing 32 people. The ship's captain is being tried on charges of manslaughter, causing the shipwreck and abandoning ship. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 editor 37340 at http://wncw.org Israel Warns Residents To Flee Gaza http://wncw.org/post/israel-warns-residents-flee-gaza The conflict between Israel and Hamas continues. Israel has intensified air strikes, and warned thousands of Palestinian residents of the northern Gaza Strip to take shelter. Israel warns it plans to bomb the area as part of their offensive against Hamas. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 editor 37339 at http://wncw.org Israel's Ambassador To U.S. Comments On Conflict In Gaza http://wncw.org/post/israels-ambassador-us-comments-conflict-gaza Israel's ambassador to the U.S. Ron Dermer talks to Steve Inskeep about what it will take to stop the Israeli-Palestinian conflict from escalating further. Tensions are mounting as the Israeli government continues its aerial bombardment of Gaza and Hamas continues firing rockets into Israel. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 editor 37338 at http://wncw.org France Celebrates Bastille Day http://wncw.org/post/france-celebrates-bastille-day July 14th is Bastille Day in France. On this day in 1789, crowds stormed the Bastille prison, where the king kept his enemies. The monarchy was overthrown in a revolution. Much like July 4th in the U.S., July 14th is a national holiday across France. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 editor 37337 at http://wncw.org To Make Children Healthier, A Doctor Prescribes A Trip To The Park http://wncw.org/post/make-children-healthier-doctor-prescribes-trip-park When Dr. Robert Zarr wanted a young patient to get more exercise, he gave her an unusual prescription: Get off the bus to school earlier.<p>"She has to take a bus to the train, then a train to another bus, then that bus to her school," says Zarr, a pediatrician at <a href="http://www.unityhealthcare.org/">Unity Health Care</a>, a clinic that serves low-income and uninsured families in Washington, D.C. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 08:29:00 +0000 Sam Sanders 37336 at http://wncw.org To Make Children Healthier, A Doctor Prescribes A Trip To The Park Saskawhat? A Novel Berry From Canada Takes Root On Michigan Farms http://wncw.org/post/saskawhat-novel-berry-canada-takes-root-michigan-farms A new kind of berry has found its way into Michigan grocery stores. These dark purple fruits are called saskatoons.<p>They're fairly common in Canada, but they're kind of a mystery here in the U.S. Even the farmers who've started growing them in Michigan aren't quite sure how to describe the taste.<p>"Every time I eat them I get a different flavor," says Steve DuCheney, who grows saskatoons in the northern part of Michigan. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 07:35:00 +0000 editor 37333 at http://wncw.org How Banning One Question Could Help Ex-Offenders Land A Job http://wncw.org/post/how-banning-one-question-could-help-ex-offenders-land-job Washington, D.C., is expected to join four states and several cities soon in prohibiting companies from asking job applicants — up front — if they have a criminal record.<p>It's part of a growing movement called Ban the Box, a reference to that box on a job application form that asks, "Have you ever been convicted of a crime?"<p>Advocates for the laws say having to check the box prevents many ex-offenders from getting a fair shot at a job.<p>Chearie Phelps-El says it happened to her. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 07:28:00 +0000 Pam Fessler 37334 at http://wncw.org How Banning One Question Could Help Ex-Offenders Land A Job Food-Mood Connection: How You Eat Can Amp Up Or Tamp Down Stress http://wncw.org/post/food-mood-connection-how-you-eat-can-amp-or-tamp-down-stress Eat more when you're stressed? You're not alone. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 07:27:00 +0000 editor 37335 at http://wncw.org Food-Mood Connection: How You Eat Can Amp Up Or Tamp Down Stress Princess Of 'Fresh Prince' Brings History To Children http://wncw.org/post/princess-fresh-prince-brings-history-children Hey, remember Hilary Banks from <em>Fresh Prince of Bel-Air</em>?<p>She's back, but in a different light. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 21:12:00 +0000 NPR Staff 37332 at http://wncw.org Princess Of 'Fresh Prince' Brings History To Children Pope Reportedly Says That 1 In 50 Clergy Are Pedophiles http://wncw.org/post/pope-reportedly-says-1-50-clergy-are-pedophiles Calling the church sex abuse scandal a "leprosy in our house," Pope Francis tells an Italian newspaper that 1 in 50 Catholic clerics are pedophiles.<p>In an interview with Eugenio Scalfari<em>, </em>the 90-year-old founder of<em> <em>La Repubblica</em></em>, Francis is quoted as saying that advisers in the Church "reassure me" that the problem amounts to "about 2 percent."<p>"This data should hearten me but I have to tell you that it does not hearten me at all. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 20:01:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 37331 at http://wncw.org Pope Reportedly Says That 1 In 50 Clergy Are Pedophiles