Bill Chappell http://wncw.org en HBO And 'Game Of Thrones' Haul In The Most Emmy Nominations http://wncw.org/post/hbo-and-game-thrones-haul-most-emmy-nominations Cable network HBO has received 99 nominations for the 2014 Emmy Awards, running its streak as the network with the most Emmy nods to 14 years. HBO's <em>Game of Thrones</em> got 19 nominations, one ahead of the FX miniseries <em>Fargo</em>.<p>NPR's Neda Ulaby reports for our Newscast unit:<p><blockquote><p>"HBO also got nominated for its movie <em>The Normal Heart</em>, for its drama <em>True Detective</em> and, in a surprise, for its comedy <em>Silicon Valley</em>.<p>"Other winners included Netflix, with 31 nominations. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:35:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 37215 at http://wncw.org HBO And 'Game Of Thrones' Haul In The Most Emmy Nominations Israel's Netanyahu Says No Cease-Fire In Gaza http://wncw.org/post/no-cease-fire-gaza-netanyahu-says-un-calls-calm There are no plans to discuss a cease-fire with Hamas, says Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, who told Israeli lawmakers today that "it's not even on the agenda."<p>Meanwhile, U.N. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 14:38:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 37213 at http://wncw.org Israel's Netanyahu Says No Cease-Fire In Gaza Kurdish Leaders Boycott Iraqi Government Meetings http://wncw.org/post/kurdish-leaders-boycott-iraqi-government-meetings A dispute between Iraq's Shiite-led central government and the semi-autonomous Kurdish region is boiling over, as Kurdish ministers withdrew from all Cabinet meetings. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 12:04:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 37208 at http://wncw.org Kurdish Leaders Boycott Iraqi Government Meetings Hackers In China Reportedly Targeted U.S. Federal Workers http://wncw.org/post/hackers-china-reportedly-targeted-us-federal-workers Chinese hackers successfully accessed U.S. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:26:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 37206 at http://wncw.org What Happens When Israeli Mourners Visit A Palestinian Family http://wncw.org/post/what-happens-when-israeli-mourners-visit-palestinian-family The family of slain Palestinian teenager <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/06/329156809/israel-arrests-6-in-teens-death-holds-victims-u-s-cousin">Mohammed Abu Khdeir</a> received condolences from an unlikely source Tuesday: Israelis who had asked to come and mourn with them.<p>The scene was predictably awkward, even painfully so. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 18:17:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 37177 at http://wncw.org What Happens When Israeli Mourners Visit A Palestinian Family Flop Life: What If We All Acted Like We Were In The World Cup? http://wncw.org/post/flop-life-what-if-we-all-acted-we-were-world-cup <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rvsuYssoTw0</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 16:04:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 37175 at http://wncw.org Flop Life: What If We All Acted Like We Were In The World Cup? As Deadline Nears, Snowden Seeks To Extend His Stay In Russia http://wncw.org/post/deadline-nears-snowden-seeks-extend-his-stay-russia Edward Snowden remains a fugitive from U.S. authorities over leaking secret documents about its surveillance programs. Now he's asking Russia to extend the one-year term of asylum the country granted the former NSA contract worker last summer.<p>Snowden's asylum, which was granted last August, is set to expire at the end of this month. His lawyer, Anatoly Kucherena, says they've filed papers for an extension.<p>"We have gone through the course of receiving temporary asylum. On July 31, this term ends. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 15:43:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 37169 at http://wncw.org 5,000 Years Old: Ancient Yew Tree Identified In Wales http://wncw.org/post/5000-years-old-ancient-yew-tree-identified-wales It might be the oldest tree in Britain. A yew tree that sprawls over a churchyard in Wales is more than 5,000 years old, according to experts. While it's not exceptionally tall, the tree has a wide canopy. And it dates back to the era of Egypt's pharaohs.<strong> </strong><p>From NPR's London bureau, Rich Preston reports:<p><blockquote><p>"The 60-foot-wide yew tree sits in the grounds of St Cynog's churchyard near Swansea in Wales. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 14:53:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 37168 at http://wncw.org Defending Tour De France Champ Froome Quits Race http://wncw.org/post/defending-tour-de-france-champ-froome-quits-race Chris Froome, who raced to the top of the podium in Paris last July, is out of this year's Tour de France after falling in treacherous conditions on today's stage of the bicycle race.<p>Today's stage had been predicted to be harrowing, owing to the course's inclusion of cobblestones. But Froome went down twice before the race even reached that point, leaving his riding kit torn on both thighs and one shoulder, where a bloody wound could be seen.<p>It was the second bad day for Froome, who also fell Tuesday. That crash left him with an injured wrist. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 14:14:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 37166 at http://wncw.org Defending Tour De France Champ Froome Quits Race Brazil Reels From Thrashing That Bounced It From World Cup http://wncw.org/post/brazil-reels-thrashing-bounced-it-world-cup "The worst game I saw in my life" is how one Brazilian fan describes it. Another says it's simply a tragedy. Some angry fans burned Brazil's flag in the street.<p>To say Brazil's <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/08/329898310/not-a-misprint-germany-leads-brazil-5-0-at-halftime">7-1 loss to Germany</a> stunned the host country would risk giving the impression that its fans aren't feeling intense pain after this loss. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 13:19:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 37165 at http://wncw.org Brazil Reels From Thrashing That Bounced It From World Cup